Social & Spiritual Groups

The First Unitarian community provides us with lots of opportunities to share our joys, interests, and passions. We learn, explore, discuss, create, dine, and enjoy life together… and form lasting and meaningful bonds. All are welcome to join in!

 

Theology and Spirituality

Covenant Groups: Explore life’s deeper issues in a small group, and develop community with enriching and meaningful connections.

Contact: Martha Beyerlein, covenant@uuabq.org

Covenant of Unitarian Universalist Pagans (CUUPS): Celebrate pagan spirituality with a focus on UU values. We hold workshops, discussion groups, and open rituals. We meet on 2nd and 4th Fridays at 7:00 pm, and hold sabbats throughout the year. Contact Raven Reed Starr at ravenreed@gmail.com for more info, or find us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/coyotewillowcuups/.

Meditation: Join in a long-standing weekly meditation group. Thursdays in the Arnold Room, 5:15 to 5:45 pm.

Secular Buddhism Group: Discuss non-theist Buddhist principles and practices from a UU perspective; practice group meditation.

Contact: Roy Moody, speaker@roymoody.com

Yoga: Yoga practice appropriate for beginners. Bring a mat and a donation of cash or canned goods for the Food Pantry. Saturdays at noon in Memorial Hall.

Contact: Ann Walton, annwalton1@comcast.net

 

Book Clubs

Bread, Wine, and Book Club: Enjoy treats and discuss fiction and nonfiction at monthly meetings in members’ homes. Meets 2nd Fridays at 7:00 pm.

Contact: Martha Beyerlein at martha.beyerlein@comcast.net

Monday Afternoon Book Club: Discuss fiction and enjoy fellowship at members’ homes. Meets on 3rd Mondays at 2:00 pm.

Contact: Dena Lucas, 792-7778

Nonfiction Book Club: Discuss nonfiction books with other UUs. Meets every Wednesday at 2:00 pm in the Arnold Room.

Contact: Bob Wood, 352-0212

 

Fun and Fellowship

Bed and Breakfast Committee: Are you a Unitarian who likes to travel? Do you enjoy bed and breakfast home stays rather than a motel? First U is a member of UU’re Home, an international network of Unitarians who provide bed and breakfast stays to fellow Unitarians and friends. Become a host or be a guest!

Contact: Jetta Reynolds jettaruthreynolds@gmail.com or Melisa Nicoud mnicoud2@gmail.com

Extended Families: Build community in a family-like group that meets for regular social events (usually monthly). Some families are accepting new members, or you can start your own! We have adults-only families as well as families for parents and children. Contact: Beth Elliot, belliot@uuabq.org

Folk Dancing: Learn new dances and practice familiar ones. No partners necessary. Thursdays, 7:30 pm.

Contact: Charlene Baker, 898-3206

Friday Painters: Paint indoors and outdoors. Open to all types of media and all skill levels. Fridays, 9:00 am, Memorial Hall.

Hiking: Enjoy monthly Saturday hikes around New Mexico with fellow UUs.

Contact: Kathleen Rhoad at krhoad33@yahoo.com.

Potluck: Bring a dish or donate $4.00 to this intergenerational gathering the first Wednesday of the month. We start arriving at 5:00 pm and eat at 6:00 pm.

Contact: Janelle Campbell, janellec42@yahoo.com

Sip ‘n’ Sup: Enjoy monthly dinners in members’ homes. Locations and participants rotate each month. Meets October through May.

Contact: Pat Diem, pat.diem@gmail.com

UU Theatre Goers: People from First U who come together to attend Community Theatre productions. After attending, we sometimes gather for food and conversation. A wonderful opportunity to enjoy fabulous local theatre, make friends, and get out for some fun.

Contact: Sue Coates, escoates@gmail.com

UU Young Adults of Albuquerque: For adults ages 18 – 35 to share, live, grow, and love together. We host a sermon discussion on the First Unitarian campus the first Sunday of every month, in addition organize volunteering and other events!

Contact:  Request to join the Young Adult Facebook group or the Google Group.

Wisdom Circle: Meet with other elder UUs for a potluck breakfast and to explore a new model of aging. Meets on 3rd Saturdays at 9:30 am in the Wesson Room.

Contact: Gary Carlson, cannmgary@aol.com

 

For more information on any church group or activity – or to start the group you’ve been dreaming of! – contact our Membership Director, Beth Elliot, at belliott@uuabq.org