Small Groups and Activities

The First Unitarian community provides us with lots of opportunities to share our joys, interests, and passions. We learn, explore, discuss, create, dine, and enjoy life together… and form lasting and meaningful bonds. Join in!

Theology and Spirituality

Brown-Bag Lunch Series: Watch and discuss video series exploring matters of spiritual interest to UUs. 12:00 pm every Wednesday in the Memorial Hall, August-May.

Contact: John Roth, johnroth1@gmail.com

A Course in Love: Learn about forgiveness, inner and outer peace, and the indwelling spirit with this study support group. Meets Sundays in the Wesson Room from 2:00-3:30 pm.

Contact: Bob Riley, 323-0364, bbriley@gmail.com

Covenant Groups: Explore life’s deeper issues in a small group, and develop community with enriching and meaningful connections.

Contact: Martha Beyerlein, covenant@uuabq.org

Covenant of Unitarian Universalist Pagans (CUUPS): Celebrate pagan spirituality in a family-friendly environment with potlucks, chanting circles, and Sabbat rituals. 2nd Fridays at 7:00 pm, and Sabbats throughout the year.

Contact: Raven Peters, ravenreed@yahoo.com

Integral Meditation and Discussion: Alternate periods of meditation with discussion of meditation-related issues.

Contact: Jac Estes, jacestes@gmail.com

Meditation: Join in a long-standing weekly meditation group. Thursdays in the Arnold Room, 5:45 to 6:45 pm.

Secular Buddhism Group: Discuss non-theist Buddhist principles and practices from a UU perspective; practice group meditation.

Contact: Roy Moody, speaker@roymoody.com

Yoga: Yoga practice appropriate for beginners. Bring a mat and a donation of cash or canned goods for the Food Pantry. Saturdays at noon in the RE Foyer.

Contact: Ann Walton, annwalton1@comcast.net

Book Clubs

Bread, Wine, and Book Club: Enjoy treats and discuss fiction at monthly meetings in members’ homes. Meets 2nd Fridays at 7:00 pm.

Contact: Martha Beyerlein at martha.beyerlein@comcast.net

Monday Afternoon Book Club: Discuss fiction and enjoy fellowship at members’ homes. Meets on 3rd Mondays at 7:00 pm.

Contact: Dena Lucas, 385-2589

Nonfiction Book Club: Discuss nonfiction books with other UUs. Meets every Wednesday at 2:00 pm in the Arnold Room.

Contact: Bob Wood, 352-0212

 

Fun and Fellowship

Bed and Breakfast Committee: Are you a Unitarian who likes to travel? Do you enjoy bed and breakfast home stays rather than a motel? First U is a member of UU’re Home, an international network of Unitarians who provide bed and breakfast stays to fellow Unitarians and friends. Become a host or be a guest!

Contact: Jetta Reynolds jettaruthreynolds@gmail.com or Melisa Nicoud mnicoud2@gmail.com

Extended Families: Build community in a family-like group that meets for regular social events (usually monthly). Some families are accepting new members, or you can start your own! We have adults-only families as well as families for parents and children.

Contact: Marian Schreyer, marianschreyer@comcast.net

Folk Dancing: Learn new dances and practice familiar ones. No partners necessary. Thursdays, 7:30 pm.

Contact: Charlene Baker, 898-3206

Friday Painters: Paint indoors and outdoors. Open to all types of media and all skill levels. Fridays, 9:00 am, Memorial Hall.

Contact: Rod Groves, 344-3156

Hiking: Enjoy monthly Saturday hikes around New Mexico with fellow UUs.

Contact: Kathleen Rhoad at krhoad33@yahoo.com.

Meditative Coloring: Meditative Coloring Group meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 5pm in Memorial Hall for an hour of soothing coloring. We use mandalas and adult coloring books to lose ourselves in the flow of the moment. Bring your own supplies or share ours.

Contact: Beth Elliot, BElliott@uuabq.org

Potluck: Bring a dish or donate $4.00 to this intergenerational gathering the first Wednesday of the month. We start arriving at 5:00 pm and eat at 6:00 pm.

Contact: Janelle Campbell, janellec42@yahoo.com

Single Moms: Band together with other Single Moms for support, activities and babysitting swaps. We meet on the first and third Sunday of each month immediately after the 11:00 service. The first Sunday meetings are with our kids and the third Sunday get-togethers allow us to meet for some adult time.

Contact: BElliott@uuabq.org to join the Facebook group or for more information.

Sip ‘n’ Sup: Enjoy monthly dinners in members’ homes. Locations and participants rotate each month. Meets October through May.

Contact: Pat Diem, pat.diem@gmail.com

Wisdom Circle: Meet with other elder UUs for a potluck breakfast and to explore a new model of aging. Meets on 3rd Saturdays at 9:30 am in the Wesson Room.

Contact: Gary Carlson, cannmgary@aol.com

UU Young Adults of Albuquerque: For adults ages 18 – 35 to share, live, grow, and love together.

Contact:  Jessica Bennett, jbenn505@yahoo.com. You can also request a group invite at  https://www.facebook.com/groups/765461506892465/.

 

For more information on any church group or activity – or to start the group you’ve been dreaming of! – contact our Membership Director, Beth Elliot, at belliott@uuabq.org

 

Leave a Reply